FIVB Men’s World Championships 2017 Asian Qualification Tournament in Canberra.

World Championship Qualification Tournament
12-16 July 2017

Australia will be vying for a place in the 2018 FIVB Men’s World Championships, by hosting Pool B in the Asian Qualification Tournament in Canberra.

The FIVB Volleyball Men’s World Championship is an international volleyball competition contested by the senior men’s national teams of the members of Fédération Internationale de Volleyball (FIVB). The initial gap between championships was variable, but since 1962 they have been awarded every four years. The current champion federation is Poland, which won its second title at the 2014 tournament in home soil.

The current format of the competition involves a qualification phase, which currently takes place over the preceding three years, to determine which teams qualify for the tournament phase, which is often called the World Championship Finals. 24 teams, including the automatically qualifying host nation(s), compete in the tournament phase for the title at venues within the host nation(s) over a period of about a month.

The one of the two finals of the Asian Confederation will be hosted in Australia in July 2017 where Australia will host Japan, Chinese Taipei, Thailand and New Zealand in the Pool B finals competition. The five (5) day competition will take place at the AIS Arena in Canberra, with 2 games being played each day. The top two teams in the pool will qualify for the 2018 World Championship.






Share this post